Selling the home, Working the Census, Day Dreaming…

5 years in a sweet home.  It’s now for sale.  I’ve ruminated over the process in the blog before, so I’ll spare you, dear reader, but it’s still hard to believe I’ve been here for 5 years!  The house has been shown quite a bit, but no serious bites so far.  Frustrating, but it’s only been three weeks.  I’ve done some small repairs along the way… stuff I just never noticed until someone else did.  At first the criticism pissed me off to no end, but I guess I’ve gotten over it.  Seems to me that people would have a bit more cooth in their emails- of course they are not attached to the property they are critiquing- but someone else is, and that someone is reading those emails.  Oh well.

I started working the Census 2 weeks ago as well.  I’ve really enjoyed it.  Pretty easy, if not somewhat mundane work, and it only confirms my belief that many of the reasons this country has its problems start with the Federal Government.  I have spent the better part of 2 years searching and applying for government jobs only to be turned down because of my gender, race, or lack of veteran status.  Now don’t get me wrong, I truly feel that those who have served this wonderful country and have put their lives on the line for our freedom deserve a leg up and some preference over regular people, including yours truly.  However, to lose out almost exclusively to that reason alone to every job, just plain sucks… and now that I see the kind of “supervisor” these ex-vets make… geez.  It’s a wonder that anything ever gets done except sheer, blatant, self-aggrandizing to make them feel better about themselves.  But, like I said, this Census thing is a good gig.  Pay is good, and I get mileage.  Hopefully, it’ll continue for another month or more. I have a 2 month appointment, but have been told that this thing could evaporate at any point.  Whatever.  It’s money and that’s a good thing these days.

So, I’ve been dreaming about what to do when I sell the house.  I want to stay in N. Dekalb so I have access to the Farmer’s Market, be close to all of my friends, and yet move further north and a bit west to be closer to John.  I’d really like to go on a trip once all is said and done.  I realize that the idea of taking a trip may be a bit aloof given my current situation of not having a job, however, with the exception of going to Florida with  my parents in November, I really haven’t been anywhere in a year and a half.  So, I’ve thought about Spain, Costa Rica, Jamaica, England, the West Coast… either which way, my sweet baby is gonna go too, and depending upon whether or not he reads this thing, he may or may not know that right now!  Surprise! 😀  Thinking about trips to be taken sure is a fun way to blow a few hours, though it helps to actually have a clue as to where we’re going to spend more time dreaming about the details.

Alright, that’s it for now… over and out and all that…

About this entry