what to do what to do…

Wow, all kinds of things going through my brain these days… I undecorated my attic Wednesday.  The first time it’s been “plain looking” in 4 years.  I cried a little bit, but am still trying to remain practical about things.  Still… I can’t count how many wonderful things happened up in that beautiful space.  Wishing several friends happy birthday on monumental decade passings (40 and 50 for a couple), wishing a best friend bon voyage on her new start to a new life, raising money for some very worthy artists, some in-home concerts with some very, very talented musicians and dear friends, and just some plain kick ass parties that happened spontaneously!  I have furthered friendships, made friendships, hoped for and even lost a couple friends in that space.  It truly has been one of the more colorful hearts of my home.

WOW!

My house is getting emptier by the week now too.  Last weekend, John and our friend  Mark helped me move out a large chunk of my furniture to make the space look bigger (as if it weren’t already!).  The house now has an echo, and could be used for short-track skating practice!  It’s been viewed twice now by interested buyers… one person actually seems more interested than not, but we’ll see.  It’s a hard thing being attached when you need to keep perspective.

First Xmas at the house...

I have a temp stint coming up with the Census in a couple weeks… that’ll be great to have some income coming in for a few weeks.  It could last one or two months.  In the meantime, I’m still on the everlasting search.  Still thinking about what I would do if I had my own business.  People keep on asking me what do you love to do?  Well, I like the idea of owning my own retail business… but pigeon holing myself into just ONE thing is where I get stuck.  I love to crochet, knit, bake, brew coffee, fix meals for friends.  I mean I can see owning a cafe, which is what I’ve always wanted to do… but I love my freedom, which would be lost mostly if I opened one up.  And then regardless of what it would be… where would it be?

Then comes the question of where will I live when I do sell my home.  My life has always been in such a perpetual state of flux… is that always the case for everyone?  I want to live closer to John… the commute is long now… 45 minutes minimum without traffic usually.  Something like 28 miles… mostly interstate, but that severely limits when one of us should drive to the other… rush hour on 285 and 400?  holy crap.  let alone the surface streets.  I want to stay in Dekalb County, and I think I have an idea as to where I want to go, but none of those locations really take off that much distance and still do not take out the 400/285 drive.  But I guess that’s the way it is… until something more serious happens between us, I’m going to live where I want to live.  hmmm, yeah, think i’ll leave that there…  Anyway, so far my thoughts are along LaVista… Oak Grove to Embry Hills area… maybe even over to Shallowford.  I want unincorporated Dekalb for my next home that I own, and would prefer to live in the same.  City taxes are way too high, and I receive no benefit from them… no kids, little trash pickup, involvement only in certain public activities… just not worth me paying into, imho.

So that’s my life right now.  The beautiful outside is calling my name…so are my taxes.  Which do you think I”ll choose?  Yeah… not too hard to figure out really!

About this entry